top of page

Father's Day

Dear Mr. Bigshot;

Mr. Tan Skin and White Teeth;

Mr. Cooks Me Whatever I Crave at Midnight;

Mr. Compliments My Singing as You Drive Me Home;

Mr. Takes Me Fishing Even Though I Have No Patience;

Mr. Sneaks Candy into the Shopping Cart When We’re Checking Out;

Mr. Gets the Can of Spam from the Top Shelf Because I’m Too Short;

Mr. Holds My Hand When I’m Crying

about The Girl Who Told Me You Weren’t

My Real Dad;

Mr. Perfect;

Mr. Not So Perfect;

Mr. I Make All the Money in the House

but Waste It on Cigarettes and Beer;

Mr. “You’re So Reckless,” but Plays Blackjack Every Single Night

with His Friends, Waking Mom Up at 12 AM When His Drunk

Ass Should Have Been in Bed;

Mr. Promised My Mom All Her Hopes and Dreams

After She Was Stuck in America with Two Kids,

A Dead Husband,

and No One To Help Her,

Just to Call Her Worthless Ten Years Later;

Mr. “No One Wants to Date a Fat Girl”;

Mr. Tells All His Friends that I’m on a Diet

Even Though I Finally Recovered Enough to Eat;

Mr. Understands English so Well but Can’t Do His Taxes

and Expects His 16 Year Old Daughter to;

Mr. “You Can’t Do Anything, How Are You So Stupid?”

Mr. The Reason I Hide in the Space

Between My Closet Wall and the Boxes of Clothes;

Mr. Never Got a Father’s Day Card From Me,

Because Even Though My Father is Dead, You Could Never Become My Dad.


bottom of page