top of page

from me to you

my sister stares at me blankly as i giggle.

the two crowns scribbled together create a purpley color

on the white paper she gave me last christmas.

my fingers reach for a color label mac and cheese.

it’s my favorite food.

my sister makes the best mac and cheese.

i drag the crown to the page and

start blending it with the other colors.

my sister is going to be so happy with me

when i leave this on her pillow tonight.

i glance up from my page and find her still staring.

i pick up my paper and crowns and run

into a dark room with a lock on the door.

it’s unusual to color in the bathroom,

but at least she won't spoil her surprise.

i pick up where i left off,

this time grabbing a different color with the labeled peeled off,

continuing to color the page so no white shows.


bottom of page